“The Butler” – film review

brainsnorts inc.

movies-the-butler-poster

Before seeing Lee Daniels’ The Butler, I had several reasons to dislike it.  First, I don’t like anyone’s name before the title.  I would not like Martin Scorcese’s Goodfellas or Steven Spielberg’s Raiders of the Lost Ark, thus I would not like anyone’s anything.  Second, any film with Oprah Winfrey usually belongs on basic cable.  Speaking of Oprah, the third reason is her sour grapes when the film was ignored in the Oscar nominations.  I’ll take fermented grapes but not sour.  Honestly, the only reason I watched The Butler was that I had the choice between that and a second helping of Silver Linings Playbook.  I chose wisely, and Oprah was right.

Having already mentioned Gump, I may as well get the obvious out of the way.  If someone tells you that The Butler, spanning from 1926 to 2008, is the African-American and more…

View original post 1,115 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

