I Wish My Daughter Had Autism

WRITTEN REFLECTIONS

You may think it’s horrible to say this, but I wish my daughter had autism.  BUT there is a very good reason for it.

I should clarify myself before I upset anyone whose life has been touched by autism. I wish my daughter, Paige, had a diagnosis of autism. She displays all the behaviors of autism, except one – she does not have social deficits.

WHAT DOES PAIGE DO THAT LOOKS LIKE AUTISM?

1.   Paige has Sensory Processing Disorder (SPD). More often than not, children with autism have sensory challenges.

This poem was written by Darci Harig, who has SPD. Take a moment to read it and put yourself in her place.

My skin feels like it is on fire, tags poke at me like a hot wire.
My pants are too loose, or way too tight…no matter what, they just don’t feel right.
My shoes hurt my feet, I just can’t…

View original post 1,037 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

