Giving Children to God 

Thinking Out Cloud

It’s common to most every religious tradition – some ceremony or service where you dedicate or commit a new child to God. In some Christian traditions, it takes the form of baptism. Others have a brief baby dedication. The last baby we dedicated was our youngest child, and that was more than a few years ago. I held the little guy in my hands, but times have changed. I don’t pick him up anymore; I’d hurt myself. He picks me up – literally. He’ll greet me at the airport, and pick me up off the ground and spin me around. That’s my baby. Yes, a lot of things have changed, but one thing never has. 
All three of our children grew up, but the transaction that took place that day we dedicated each of them to God is one thing that is still being repeated today. We cannot physically hold…

View original post 641 more words

Leave a comment

October 7, 2015 · 6:27 pm

Leave a Reply

